Back on My Mojo?

Emily Alexandra
3 min readJun 28, 2022
Courtesy of me! Enjoy the free art!

Hey…it’s been a while since I’ve last written an article about me running out of ideas, hasn’t it? Of course, you can say that I’ve written already written an article about me running out of ideas early in June of this year, but that was me having a more philosophical take on running out of ideas.

What I can definitely say is that it’s been a while since I’ve drawn something myself for a header image for one of my articles, but the last time I’ve done that was for something personal. Then again…almost everything I write on here is something personal. Yes, even the ones that don’t seem to be about me at all.

“Emily, why would you say that? Are you a narcissist?” you might be asking. Yes, yes I am a narcissist; we’re all narcissists. I’ve already written an article about it. I wrote that article because, in a way, it does have something about me.

Those articles about Eurovision, especially the last one? Yep, they have the tiniest bit to do with me because I love Eurovision; it’s my passion. All those philosophical and/or political takes I’ve made here? Those are about me, too. We’re all affected by philosophy and politics; that’s just life. We live in a society. Those short stories and that one song? Those are my ideas. Why shouldn’t I publish them here?

But I guess what I’m referring to are those articles that are primarily about me, and I haven’t written those for a good while…at least, not until now. You can say I’ve ran out of things to write about again, but I prefer to say that I may have gotten my mojo back — just like in the good old days when I first started writing here.

“Emily, what do you mean by mojo?” you might be asking. And that’s a good point. Back when I first started writing on this website, the only things I would write about were philosophical and political topics. Are we our own version of God?, X from a leftist’s point of view, stuff like that. And it was fun and fascinating to write about for a while, but it only takes so long before you run into a brick wall. And…I eventually did run into that brick wall.

I guess that’s what happens when you make yourself write on a certain schedule. There are only so many philosophical/political takes you can write about before you run out of ideas. That’s what happened to me, and it really didn’t take that long. So, when I couldn’t think of any more philosophical/political topics, I wrote about myself. Then, I wrote about pop culture, and so on and so forth.

You know, now that I think about it, is philosophy and politics really my mojo, or is my mojo just whatever I want to talk about at the time? And really, what can I define as mojo, anyway? How do I define myself? Do I have to restrict myself to just one topic, or can I talk about anything I want to talk about? Many people say that people will only follow you for talking about a certain topic, but as a consumer myself, wouldn’t that just be boring? Wouldn’t talking about the same thing over and over again get old or depressing?

I don’t know; maybe that’s just me. Maybe I’m just a weird person…an eccentric person, if you want to believe the username in your search engine. I like thinking, learning, and writing about a wide variety of topics, so maybe that’s my mojo there. Either way, if I ever have an idea in my head, I’ll make sure to write about it. After all, there are so many interesting things in the world to discuss — so many questions about life to ponder. That’s the whole beauty of writing to me. That’s…that’s my mojo right there.

--

--

Emily Alexandra

Just some autistic person wanting to write and write. I also like to draw and have a cat and dog that are my life. I publish on 8th, 18th, and 28th every month.