Do Employed People Run Out of Philosophical Things to Write About?

Emily Alexandra
4 min readJul 8, 2023

--

Photo by Dmitry Ratushny on Unsplash

When I first started this blog in August 2020, I was unemployed and had not much to live for. Now, almost three years later, I’ve got a full-time job with health insurance and other benefits. Ever since I started my job in June 2023, I’ve barely thought about the philosophical things I would often think about in my unemployed days. This makes me wonder…

Do employed people run out of philosophical things to write about?

Maybe it’s just me, but I just can’t come up with anything interesting to write about other than work. Have I become a boring person? Maybe. But even when I was just a little ol’ freelance writer barely making $100 a month, I was able to come up with some interesting things. But now…? I’m lucky to come up with this idea in the first place.

This really shouldn’t be the case because I interact with people at my job every day. Yet, this is ironically the case with me.

I just can’t seem to come up with anything interesting to talk about!

Back in the day, I wrote about writing about something at the very last minute to fulfill an arbitrary deadline I’ve made for myself, but that’s not easy to do when you have a full-time job. I probably should’ve come up with something on the 4th of July, but I uh…

I slept through most of the day. Call me lazy, but I must’ve been so tired that I completely forgot about this little blog I’ve made because a therapist advised me to express my feelings here. That’s what happens when you work full-time, isn’t it?

Maybe tiredness is the reason why I can’t seem to come up with something interesting to talk about here. How many of you are tired when you get off work? I know I have been, especially when I’m by myself behind the library’s reference desk. When you’re working hard at any job, you don’t have much energy to think about complex issues. All you want to do is sit down and turn your brain off.

It also doesn’t help that I have to wake up and go to bed early, so that doesn’t leave much time for me to write about complicated stuff, either. If it weren’t for my strange dedication to updating this blog three times a month, I wouldn’t be sitting here at my computer writing this thing at all. I’d be listening to dumb pop songs I would often listen to as a child.

Ah, childhood… back when unemployment was an innocent thing. However, unemployment as adult is seen less as innocent and more as pathetic. And I didn’t get this job until I was 24 years old, so maybe that might say something about me.

When I was younger, I thought you couldn’t get a job unless you knew how to drive, yet look at me. I’ve got a full-time job with health insurance and other wonderful benefits, and I still don’t know how to drive! So, how have I been getting to work? The library’s too far for me to walk to (according to my mother), so that rules walking out.

Well… my mother and grandmother have been taking me to work. On the days where I have to be at work by 8:30 or 8:00 (on the Saturdays I do work), my mother takes me. On Thursday, my late night where I have to close the library at 8:00 P.M., my grandmother takes me. So much for learning to drive, right? Since I’ve got two chauffeurs taking me to work, I shouldn’t have to worry about learning to drive, right?

Actually, I still kind of want to learn how to drive, and my grandmother’s been teaching me how to do so. It feels to weird to actually drive, but my grandmother’s been super patient with me so far. She said I’ll get used to the feeling of driving — just like I’ve been getting used to working full-time.

Now that my grandmother’s teaching me how to drive, she’s wanting me to teach me how to do so on the Fridays where I have work off and on Thursdays where I don’t have to get to work until 11:00 in the morning. So, instead of relaxing on the one weekday where I don’t have to work, I’m going to practice driving.

Thanks, Grandma!

I’ve had so much on my plate that I haven’t really had time to do or think about anything else — baking cookies and brownies, drawing, and especially writing. That’s probably why I haven’t been writing about the things I would usually write about. I just simply don’t have the time or energy to write about those things.

But maybe those ideas will come back once I’m used to this weird, new routine of mine. If I ever do get a driver’s license and keep my job, the ideas might eventually come back. However, if they don’t, then don’t be surprised if I somehow miss the monthly deadlines I’ve arbitrarily put on myself.

--

--

Emily Alexandra

Just some autistic person wanting to write and write. I also like to draw and have a cat and dog that are my life. I publish on 8th, 18th, and 28th every month.